Sunday, August 02, 2009

Formation of South Carolina’s Counties

Colleton, St. Bartholomew's Parish, Orangeburgh District, Winton County, Orangeburg District again, Barnwell District, Barnwell County, Bamberg County . . .

From Malcom Clark’s first plat to the present day, the land where our forebears lived has been called by many different names. Certainly useful in our quest for information on our ancestors is knowing the name of where they lived.

From the Proprietors' three counties in 1682 to the last division of Barnwell County to make Allendale County in 1919, click here to see the Maps Tracing the Formation of Counties in South Carolina at the SC Department of Archives and History website.

No comments:

Post a Comment